Where do I find a VOE? you get if from you High School but here is one for you to print out. clickhere
Where do I take the permit test? You can take the permit test online through our course after completing Module 1. Or you can take the permit test at your local DPS office after completion of Module 1.
Where do I find my classroom logs, driving logs and Affidavits. Clickhere
Now a person you can designation to teach course if the parent not eligible. click here
1. Is this course approved by the State of Texas? Yes. This course is approved and meets all required state standards. It has been assigned Course #120. Any questions, call 281-455-0609
2. What is the course format and what does it include? This course is done online and includes 32 hours of “Classroom” instruction and 14 hours of “Behind-the-Wheel” instruction.
3. Why should I choose this course?
Our course is Texas approved and affordable. Plus, you can work around your busy schedule and complete lessons whenever YOU want.
4. When can I begin teaching the course?
After you receive your Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Information Packet from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). The online packet request form is found here: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/ParentTaught/PTInstruction.aspx
5. Is my 14 year-old eligible to begin this course? Yes, a student must be 14 years of age prior to beginning the classroom portion; however, they may not test for a learner license until their 15th birthday.
7. Are there any computer requirements to view this course? Yes. You will need to be able to log-in to the website. You will need and adobe reader to download the DE-964.
8. Is the purchase price for this course refundable? No. The purchase price is non-refundable. Any questions on price call 281-455-0609
10. Can I print the DE-964 certificate in black and white? Yes. The certificate must be printed from any printer.
11. What is the timeline to complete the course?
A minimum of 76 hours of actual instruction time is required to complete the driver education course however, there are some requirements to keep in mind:
– The “Classroom” thirty-two (32) hours must not be completed in fewer than sixteen calendar days.
– The “Behind-the-Wheel” fourteen (14) hours plus the additional 30 hours of driving practice must not be completed in fewer than forty-four calendar days.
12. Can I take the dps driving test with you? Call for info on this 281-455-0609
13. Where do I get a Texas Driver Handbook? The handbook information is include in Module 1 of our course, but is available at your local DPS office or online at: http://dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DL-7.pdf.
14. Can this course be used multiple times?
No. A separate course must be purchased. Each course includes one DE-964 certificate, which contains a unique control number that is tracked by the Texas DPS. but a discount can be given to family members
15. Is there a fee for a duplicate DE-964 certificate? Yes. The fee is $20. This is sent to you in your Email.
16. My teenage son has been driving for quite some time. Can that time count towards the behind-the-wheel time requirements of this course? No behind-the-wheel instruction or practice may be permitted until the student has been issued a learner license. Driving without a valid license on a public street or highway is a violation of state law. Any behind the wheel instruction prior to issuance of the learner license will not be accepted toward the required instruction or practice time.
17. Will course hours transfer to a “Commercial Driving School?”
ONLY if the entire 32 hours of classroom instruction is completed successfully. Please note that a transfer to a “Commercial Driving School” will require additional course fees be paid to the “Commercial Driving School” that are not included in the purchase of this course.
18. If my teenager completes the classroom hours of instruction at a commercial (or public) school, what must I do to teach just the behind-the-wheel phase?
Apply to provide parent taught instruction from TDLR. Order the behind the wheel course. The certificate will be emailed to you the next day.
19. My teenager completed the 32 classroom hours of instruction in the parent-taught course and I want those hours transferred to a commercial driving school for the behind-the-wheel phase. What should I do? The parent/instructor provides the receiving commercial school with a copy of the completed Classroom Instruction Log found in the PTDE Information Packet received from TDLR. The parent will provide a transfer DE-964 to the receiving school.
20. Are there any additional requirements? Yes.
The student must be provided with an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, which must include at least 10 hours driving at night. These hours are required to be certified by a parent or guardian before a teenager may progress to Phase 2 of the Texas Graduated Driver Licensing Program
Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Guide 30 Hours:
(Click here for: Instruction Guide)
Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Practice Log 30 Hours: (Click here for: Practice Log)
Impact Texas Teen Driver (ITTD) 2-hour video https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov/
21. What is ITTD?
Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) is an informational tool (2 hour video) that is designed to educate teens on the dangers of distracted driving. An ITTD certificate is required by DPS before obtaining a provisional driver license. The video must be viewed by the student and an ITTD certificate printed. For details visit https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov/
22. Where can I go to watch the DPS Impact (ITTD) video?
23. What is a “Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) Form?” It is a document that verifies student enrollment and is required by DPS before obtaining a driver’s license. (A high school diploma or GED will fulfill this requirement.) The VOE and more information is found at http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/drivereduforms.htm. Scroll to the bottom of the webpage.
24. Where can I get a VOE signed?
From your teenager’s public, charter, home, private school; GED Program; or Institution of Higher Education Administration Office.
25. What items must be provided to the driver license office for a Learner License or a Provisional License? Visit: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ApplyforLicense.htm
26. Does completion of this course qualify for an automobile insurance discount? Yes, it can. Consult with your insurance carrier.